About The Drake Ensemble

The idea for the Drake Ensemble was formed when a group of friends gave their first concert featuring works by Haydn, Macmillan and Brahms at the Drake in Lynedoch Street, Glasgow. After this successful performance, the group were invited to become the ensemble in residence at the venue, and to curate a series of 6 concerts, to be called Music in the Round Upstairs at the Drake.

The core members of the Drake Ensemble are;

Frances Pryce – violin

Kirsty Orton – violin

Shelagh McKail – viola

Marie Connell – cello

image During this first year of concerts, guests artistes have been;

Nicholas Ross – clarinet

Richard Blake – flute

Laura Baxter – piano

Elaine Koene – viola

Stephen Orton – cello

John Slack – clarinet

Kirstie Logan – oboe

Mary Ward – viola



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s